
STEPS TO PROPER REGISTRATION RENEWAL 

 

 
 
  

   

 
  

The Architect Registration Renewal Notice is now a "Screen Fillable” 
PDF form.  That means you can fill it out by typing the required 
information into the form’s displayed fields on your keyboard. To find 
out which fields are required, simply check the box entitled, ‘Highlight 
Required Fields’ at the top of the renewal notice. Type the required 
information and print the forms. Sign and date where indicated and mail 
them to the Board office with your check.  
  

 

  

If you prefer to download and print a blank Architect Registration Renewal Notice so that you can 
complete it by hand, you may do so.  You can duplicate the Continuing Education Annual Report form 
if you have additional continuing education activities to report. 
 
Most of the forms on this site are in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF).  To download and print 
forms, you need to get the FREE Acrobat™ Reader and install it on your computer.    If you are unable 
to access these forms for any reason, you may request a paper copy from the Board office. 
 
1. Type your name, firm name, address, city, state and zip code in the required fields. 
 
2. Type your Alabama registration number in the required field. 

 
3. Type your social security number in the required field.  Failure to provide your SSN will delay 

processing of your renewal. 
 
4. Type your telephone number (required) and e-mail address (not required). 
 
5. Mark statements with an “x” on all that apply. 
 
6. Answer all questions.  These are required fields. 

 
7. Type the continuing education hours you have earned during the period October 1, 2010 to September 

30, 2011 (or through date of submittal) on the Continuing Education Annual Report Form. .  DO 
NOT ATTACH TRANSCRIPTS.  NOTE:  GRAND TOTAL OF ALL HOURS MUST EQUAL 
AT LEAST 12 AND MUST BE HEALTH, SAFETY AND WELFARE RELATED.  Please read 
attached Continuing Education Guidelines to distinguish between structured and self-directed 
continuing education hours.  DO NOT ENCLOSE DOCUMENTATION for your continuing 
education hours.  Keep the documentation in the event your report is audited. 

 
8. Print the forms and sign and date form where indicated. 

 
9. Return the completed forms and your check in the appropriate amount to the Board postmarked 

no later than September 30, 2011, to avoid the $75 late penalty.   
 

10. ALL RENEWALS postmarked October 1, 2011 through December 31, 2011 MUST 
include the $75 late penalty in addition to the applicable renewal fee.  ALL 
REGISTRATIONS not renewed by 12/31/11 MUST be REINSTATED. 

 



CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
1. Twelve hours of health, safety, and welfare continuing education are required for registration 

renewal. 
 
2. EMERITUS ARCHITECTS:  If you are an Emeritus Architect, you are not required to 

complete the continuing education requirements.  You must be on record with this Board (not 
AIA) as being an Emeritus Architect to receive this exemption. When completing the 
statement(s) on page one of the renewal form, please check off the exemption for “EMERITUS 
ARCHITECT.” 

 
3. FIRST-TIME REGISTRANTS:  If this is your first renewal period for your Alabama 

registration, you are exempt from the continuing education requirements for this reporting 
period.  If your Alabama registration number is 6844 or higher, this exemption applies to 
you.  When completing the statement(s) on page one of the renewal form, please check off the 
exemption for “FIRST-TIME REGISTRANT.” 

 
4. RESIDENTS OF ALASKA, ARKANSAS, IDAHO, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY, 

LOUISIANA, MASSACHUSETTS, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, NEBRASKA, NEW 
MEXICO, NORTH CAROLINA, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH 
CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE,   VERMONT, VIRGINIA, 
WEST VIRGINIA and WYOMING.  Since your RESIDENT STATE requires continuing 
education and accepts Alabama’s continuing education program as equal to theirs, you do not 
need to list your activities on our report form.  When completing the statement(s) on page 1 of 
the renewal form, please check off the last statement, list your RESIDENT STATE and 
registration number, and attach a copy of the latest wallet card issued.  IF YOUR RESIDENT 
STATE DOES NOT ISSUE WALLET CARDS, PLEASE ATTACH A LETTER OF GOOD 
STANDING OR CERTIFICATE INDICATING GOOD STANDING.  

 
5. PERSONAL HARDSHIPS:  Personal Hardship requests must be received in the Board Office 

by September 1, 2011.  If you are granted a personal hardship exemption by this Board in 
writing, you are exempt from the continuing education requirements.  When completing the 
statement(s) on page one of the renewal form, please check off the exemption for “PERSONAL 
HARDSHIP” and attach your letter from the Board approving the hardship. 

 
6. MILITARY:  If registrant is a civilian who serves on active duty in the Armed Forces of the 

United States for a period of time exceeding ninety (90) consecutive days during the annual 
reporting period, you are exempt from the continuing education requirements for this reporting 
period.  (This does not include a career military person who is reassigned overseas, etc.)  When 
completing the statement(s) on page one of the renewal form, please check off the exemption 
for “MILITARY” and attach your orders. 



CONTINUING EDUCATION GUIDELINES 
 
REQUIREMENTS: 
 
Each Alabama registered architect shall complete a minimum of twelve (12) continuing education hours each 
fiscal year (10/1 to 9/30).  Topics should include the study of relevant technical and professional architectural 
subjects related to safeguarding life, health, property, and promoting the public welfare.  A minimum of eight 
(8) CEHs must be earned in a structured setting.  A maximum of four (4) CEHs may be earned in a self- 
directed setting. 
 
STRUCTURED CONTINUING EDUCATION (minimum 8 CEHs required) shall include the following: 
 
1. Attending professional or technical presentations at meetings, conventions, or conferences. 
 
2. Attending in-house programs sponsored by corporations or other organizations. 
 
3. Successfully completing seminars, tutorials, short courses, on-line courses, correspondence 

courses, televised courses, or videotaped courses. 
 
4. Successfully completing college or university sponsored courses. 
 
5. Successfully completing courses that are awarded continuing education credits. 
 
SELF-DIRECTED CONTINUING EDUCATION (maximum 4 CEHs allowed) shall include the following: 
 
1. Reading books or magazine articles on HSW issues or topics. 
 
2. Visiting architecturally significant sites with focus on HSW issues or topics. 
 
3. Viewing video or presentations on HSW issues or topics. 
 
4. Making professional or technical presentations at meetings, conventions, or conferences. 
 
5. Teaching or instructing a qualified presentation (initial presentation only).  Teaching credit shall 

not apply to full-time faculty at a college, university, or other educational institution. 
 
6. Authoring published papers, articles, or books on HSW issues or topics. 
 
7. Actively participating in a technical professional society or organization as an officer or 

committee member. 
 
8. Participating in activities that contribute to the welfare of the community and are directly related 

to the practice of architecture (such as Habitat for Humanity, etc.). 
 
COMPUTATION OF CREDIT: 
 
Successfully completing one (1) hour professional development education (50 minutes contact time) 
shall be the equivalent of one (1) CEH. 
 
The Board has final authority with respect to approval of courses, credits, and continuing education 
hours for courses and any other method of earning credit. 
 
EXEMPTIONS: 
 
A first-time new registrant by exam or reciprocity will be exempt for the first renewal period.  NOTE:  
This exemption does not apply on applications for reinstatement of registration. 
 
Registrant is an emeritus status architect on record with this Board (not AIA). 



 
Registrant is a civilian who serves on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States for a period 
of time exceeding ninety (90) consecutive days during the annual reporting period.  (This does not 
include a career military person who is reassigned overseas, etc.) 
 
Resident registrants of any other NCARB jurisdiction with either a mandatory or voluntary continuing 
education program provided that same jurisdiction accepts the Alabama continuing education 
requirement as satisfying their continuing education requirement, and the registrant certifies by affidavit 
and annual report that all requirements of that jurisdiction for current continuing education compliance 
and registration have been met.  For continuing education purposes, the address of record on file 
with the Board will determine “residence.” (Applies to Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, 
Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, 
Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, 
West Virginia and Wyoming residents only.)  Registrant must attach to the annual report form a copy of 
the most recently-issued wallet card, letter of good standing, or certificate. 
 
Personal hardship (considered on an individual basis).  Requests must be received at the Board office 
no later than September 1. 

 
REPORTING: 
 
The Continuing Education Annual Report Form must be completed in full in order to process the 
registration renewal.  The registrant must supply enough details on the form to permit verification, must 
sign and certify the Certification statement on the Continuing Education Annual Report Form, and 
submit it with the appropriate fee for renewal.  SIMPLY ATTACHING TRANSCRIPTS OR 
DOCUMENTATION IS NOT ACCEPTABLE.  DO NOT SEND DOCUMENTATION.  A random audit of 
all annual reports will be conducted to ensure accuracy and compliance. 
 
RECORDKEEPING: 
 
The registrant is responsible for retaining proof of participation in continuing education activities.  
Supporting documents may include but are not limited to: (1) a log showing activity claimed, sponsoring 
organization, location, duration, etc.; (2) attendance certificates; (3) signed attendance receipts; (4) paid 
receipts; (5) sponsor's list of attendees (signed by a person in responsible charge of the activity). 

 

Registrants who claim CEHs for self-directed activities must retain information which (1) accounts for 
the amount of time spent completing the activity; (2) summarizes the content of the activity; and (3) 
relates the activity to the health, safety, and welfare of the public. 

 

These records must be retained for a period of one year.  Copies must be furnished to the Board for 
audit purposes if requested. 

 
DISALLOWANCES: 
 
If continuing education credits are disallowed, the registrant shall have 60 calendar days after 
notification to substantiate the original claim or earn other continuing education credits to meet the 
minimum requirements. 
 
NONCOMPLIANCE AND SANCTIONS: 
 
Failure to fulfill the continuing education requirements and file a properly completed and signed annual 
report, shall result in non-renewal of the architect's certificate of registration. 
 

Click here to access Fillable Renewal Form 

http://www.boa.alabama.gov/PDFS/ONLINERENEWALS/2011RenewalFillable.pdf



