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SPECIAL EDITION:  CHANGES TO ALABAMA’S 
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 
 
Recently, the members of the Alabama Board of Architects 
voted to change continuing education requirements for 
renewal of an architect’s registration in Alabama.  The 
changes are part of a larger nationwide goal spearheaded by 
NCARB:  greater standardization of continuing education 
requirements, simplified record keeping processes for state 
Member Boards of architecture, coupled with a reduced 
burden on architects licensed in multiple states.  
 
Upon examination of the requirements of NCARB’s Member 
Boards, it was determined that 46 jurisdictions have 
continuing education requirements for license renewal.  
Requirements range from 5 hours per year to 50 hours in five 
years.  To complicate things further, these requirements are 
usually tied to a member board’s renewal cycle, which varies 
widely nationwide. 
 
NCARB committees composed of architects and Executive 
Directors of the Member Boards worked together in an effort 
to find common ground.  As part of this important task, it was 
noted that 32 of the 46 jurisdictions require an average of 12 
hours per year.  Further collaboration resulted in a 
recommendation to “decouple” the time frame for earning 
continuing education hours from the renewal date, thus 
resulting in a standardized earning cycle that is not tied to the 
renewal date.  Requiring that all 12 hours are related to 
health, safety, and welfare (HSW) ensures that continuing 
education hours are meaningful and focused on subjects that 
are critically important to competent practice. 
 
Board Members of the Alabama Board of Architects 
participated in these committees over a period of years, and 
they support this important effort toward standardization of 
continuing education requirements across the United States 
and its territories. 
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So, how will these changes affect an Alabama licensee?  The comparison chart below shows 
the significant changes: 
 
 

CRITERIA 
 

CURRENT  
REQUIREMENTS 

 
RECENTLY ADOPTED 

REQUIREMENTS 

Annual Hours Required 12 12 

Annual Health, Safety, and 

Welfare (HSW) hours required 
12 12 

Learning Environment 8 structured (minimum),  

4 self-directed (maximum) 

12 structured (minimum) 

Course content stipulations HSW-related HSW-related with suggested 

content areas 

Earning cycle for continuing 

education hours 

October 1-September 30 (or 

through date of renewal) 

January 1-December 31 

Renewal / reporting date September 30 September 30 

Record retention One year from date reported on 

the renewal form 

One year from date reported on 

the renewal form 

Random audit verification? Yes Yes 

Documentation evidence retained 

by registrant? 

Yes Yes 

Exemptions (a)  Emeritus 

(b)  First-time registrants 

(c)  Civilian called to active 

military duty (subject to 

conditions) 

(d)  Hardships (subject to 

approval by the Board) 

(e)  Resident state 

(a)  Emeritus 

(b)  First-time registrants 

(c)  Civilian called to active 

military duty (subject to 

conditions) 

(d)  Hardships (subject to 

approval by the Board) 

Excess hour carry-over? No No 

Remedy for disallowances? Yes, within 60 days of notification Yes, within 60 days of notification 

Non-compliance penalties? Yes Yes 
 
 
To view the revised regulation, please see Chapter 3 in The Architects Handbook, found 
on the Board’s web site at http://www.boa.alabama.gov in the “Important Links” box. 
 



IMPROVEMENTS TO THE RENEWAL PROCESS 
 

In an effort to simplify the renewal process, changes to both the on-line and paper-based 
renewal processes will take effect with renewals due in 2012.   The most significant of these is 
that licensees will NOT be asked to list their earned continuing education hours on the renewal 
form.  Instead, the licensee will be asked to certify that he/she has complied with the continuing 
education requirements.  As part of the certification, the licensee acknowledges that making a 
false statement to the Board will be grounds for disciplinary action. 
 
A continuing education log will be made available for download on the Board’s web site for use 
by licensees to conveniently track hours as they are earned.  The log will also be used in the 
event a licensee is audited for compliance with the Board’s continuing education requirements. 

 
FAQs (FACTUALLY ANSWERED QUESTIONS) 

 
When does the new regulation go into effect? 
The regulation is legally effective on November 21, 2011 for renewals due in 2012.   
 
When I submit my renewal in 2012, will I certify that I completed hours earned in calendar 
year 2011? 
Yes.  The Board understands that this will result in certifying some or all hours that were 
previously reported for renewals submitted in 2011.  However, this is necessary in order to 
implement the new continuing education requirement that “decouples” the earning cycle from 
the renewal date.  
 
So, when I submit my renewal in 2013, I will certify that I completed hours earned in 
calendar year 2012, right? 
Yes.  This is essentially the “full” implementation of the requirement.   
 
Why do I have to wait so long to certify compliance with the continuing education 
requirement?  Why can’t I do it in December of the year they are earned? 
The renewal date is set by State law and coincides with the State’s accounting fiscal year.  
There are no immediate plans to change the September 30 reporting date. 
 
What qualifies as health, safety, and welfare? 
The Board’s new regulation gives specific examples of health, safety, and welfare related 
subject matter.  The examples are given as general guidance, and the Board does not pre-
approve courses.  If the licensee believes that he/she has earned continuing education hours 
that do not expressly fall in the categories outlined in the regulations, he/she must be able to 
explain the relationship of those hours to health, safety, and welfare if audited. 
 
What qualifies as “structured” continuing education? 
Structured hours are earned by personal contact or in a distance-learning environment.  
Examples include seminars, webinars, lunch-and-learn presentations, on-line courses, NCARB 
monographs, and the like.  In the event the licensee is audited, it is the licensee’s responsibility 
to provide documentation that supports completion of the hours. 
 
Why did the Board eliminate “self-directed” continuing education activities? 
In many instances, self-directed activities are unstructured and individually planned without a 
distinct learning objective.  In our experience, these hours are not universally accepted for credit 
by all Member Boards and are difficult to substantiate during the audit. 



Why was the “resident state exemption” eliminated? 
The overarching goal of standardization is to have all states adopt the new standard; therefore, 
the “resident state exemption” will not be needed because licensees of all Member Boards will 
have the same requirements for earning cycle, number of hours, and learning setting.  
 
What if my resident state does not adopt the NCARB model requirements? 
Regardless of whether your resident state adopts the model continuing education requirement, 
you must comply with Alabama’s continuing education requirements to renew your license.   
 
I am over 65 years old, and I don’t think I need continuing education any more.  Why 
can’t I be exempt from the requirements? 
If you are continuing to actively practice as an architect, you must complete the continuing 
education requirements expected of all licensed architects.  If you are retired from practice, 
over 65 years of age, and have been licensed in Alabama for 10 consecutive years or more, you 
may be eligible for “Emeritus” Status, which exempts you from the continuing education 
requirements.  Contact Bonnie Singleton for more information at (334) 242-4179 or 
Bonnie.Singleton@boa.alabama.gov. 
 
Will the Board audit for compliance? 
Yes.  As in years past, if the licensee is selected for audit, he/she must provide documentation 
of 12 hours of HSW-related continuing education earned during the previous calendar year.  
 
Is the AIA transcript acceptable as documentation in the event of an audit? 
Generally, yes.  The transcript must show the continuing education hours earned during the 
time frame being audited, and they must be HSW-related.  It is important to note that there have 
been differences of opinion between AIA and state Member Boards regarding course content 
deemed allowable as health, safety, and welfare.  If necessary for clarification, the licensee 
must be prepared to explain how the course content relates to health, safety, and welfare. 
 
What other forms of documentation are acceptable as part of the audit? 
Other acceptable forms of documentation include certificates of completion issued by the course 
provider, “sign-in” log provided directly by the course provider, and other correspondence or 
documentation provided directly by the course provider. 
 
What if I can’t provide documentation of my continuing education hours? 
Regulations require that the licensee maintain documentation of hours earned.  Failure to 
provide documentation, if audited, may result in disciplinary action. 
 
 
 
 

 
QUOTABLE QUOTE 

  
Let us think of education as the means of developing our greatest abilities, 

because in each of us there is a private hope and dream which, fulfilled, can be 
translated into benefit for everyone and greater strength for our nation.  
 

        --John F. Kennedy 


